Day 3 | June 30 | Boston Bar to Ashcroft | 120 km

I wake up shivering this morning after a cold, windy night. I slowly collect what I need for the day from the truck, dismantle the tent and throw together my usual oatmeal breakfast.

Today is supposed to be a hard day of hills, so I plan to leave early and get a head start. Before I set out, I chat with one of the campground staff about our route for the day. “Good luck” she says as I’m getting ready to leave. “Look out for rattlesnakes.”

The first 18 km are much like yesterday with a strong tailwind and lots of long hills, except this time there’s no sign of rain.

Then I come to Jackass Mountain, a steep 2 km climb with great scenery from the top.


I stop for a food break another 20 km up the road in Lytton, known as Canada’s hot spot. It usually has the highest summer temperature in the country, but today it’s a comfortable 20C. It’s also a popular white water rafting destination.

The tailwind keeps up as I climb one hill after another, enjoying fast descents and sunny skies. I notice the vegetation suddenly changing from a thick forest to a dry and sparse desert. Some sections have no shoulder at all so I’m constantly checking for approaching traffic.

An hour later, as I’m stopped for a water break, Steve pulls up riding solo as well. We like to keep a similar pace, so we stick together the rest of the way, pausing frequently to take in the view.


Even though I had a lot of fun today, it’s always nice to get into camp, put my feet up and chow down. On the menu tonight is pasta with vegetables. It’s unbelievable how much food we go through as a group. I don’t envy our cook!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 3 | June 30 | Boston Bar to Ashcroft | 120 km

  1. David McLellan says:

    Great post Lynn. We are looking forward to seeing you when you get into Alberta.

  2. Lynn says:

    Just made it to Kamloops. Tell Callie I said Happy Birthday!

Comments are closed.